IMOCA Ocean Masters World Championship

In 2014, the IMOCA World Championship has been rechristened the Ocean Masters World Championship. This new name reflects the desire to internationalise and further develop the circuit  – a circuit already recognised as the world’s foremost for shorthanded offshore racing.

This newly branded series is based on a number of world famous oceanic races in which, for several decades, the sporting endeavours and heroic achievements of its participants have, frequently, turned skippers into superstars. The Vendée Globe, Barcelona World Race, Route du Rhum, Transat Jacques Vabre, Rolex Fastnet Race…around the world, across the Atlantic, double-handed or solo, ….all of these challenging events attract a strong media following, and huge crowds at start and finish race villages.

The Ocean Masters World Championship will also comprise a series of new events aiming to take the fleet to new territories, visiting new venues thereby attracting new sponsors, teams and skippers to the class in turn increasing media value, The first new event was the IMOCA Ocean Masters New York to Barcelona Race, which started from New York on 1 st June 2014.

A new World Champion every two years

A new format for the championship aims to tie together events in the series, growing its media value and enlarging its international fanbase, by improving the communications during racing using state of the art technology platforms, including more onboard footage and mobile applications. Through this, the sailors’ extraordinary stories from the high seas can be better conveyed, thereby secure more following and media attention.

With the Barcelona World Race and the Vendée Globe alternating every two years over a four year cycle, a new World Champion is crowned every two years, at the end of these round the world races, that represent the pinnacle of the series.

To become World Champion, a skipper will need to have accumulated the most points in the Ocean Masters World Championship events over the preceding two years, these events each having a coefficient based on their difficulty.

Value of points awarded in the IMOCA world championship:

  • Solo round the world : x 10
  • Double-handed round the world : x 8
  • Solo transatlantic : x 4
  • Double-handed transatlantic : x 3
  • Crewed offshore race : x 2 to 4 (function of the distance)
  • Crewed offshore race : x 1 to 2 (between 1000 and 2000 miles)

IMOCA Champions

IMOCA champions have proved through their results, that they are great sailors and skilled racers, but also experts in weather, as when we are talking about IMOCA races, routing and external assistance are forbidden. They also need to be successful business leaders, as they have to set up their projects, work with the top specialists in their field and manage their teams, before they find themselves alone facing the elements. Skippers claim that a solo win is something that is prepared by crew racing and they know how to share their passion for ocean racing, their happy and sometimes sad adventures both with those around them and the general public. The means of communication that are installed on board help them in this role as communicators and mean that today they are certainly not remote, while at the same time are champions.

Who is the best sailor in the world?

Ocean racing is an adventure, one of the few extreme adventures left in the world today. Sailing single-handed or double-handed non-stop and unassisted, across oceans and around the world is one of the most impressive displays of bravery, commitment, determination and unwavering dedication.

Ocean racing is a human story. One human and one boat pitted against nature. Sailors overcome the most extreme weather conditions, in some of the most remote parts of the world’s oceans to make their dreams reality.

So who is the best sailor in the world?

The IMOCA Ocean Masters World Champion.

Over a period of 24 months the best sailors in the world test their will, skills, endurance, their art, their limits on IMOCA 60 racing yachts in legendary solo and double-handed races under the harshest conditions – across oceans and round the globe – with dramatic passages around the most famous capes.

Over 1000 people have climbed Everest, over 500 have been into space…but less than 100 have ever sailed single-handed non-stop around the world.

The Vendee Globe, Fastnet Race, Route du Rhum, Transat Jacques Vabre, and Barcelona World Race are some of the spectacular legs in this IMOCA Ocean Masters World Championship.

IMOCA Ocean Masters. 
Where sailing reaches its peak.
Where history is written.
Where heroes are made.
Where the best sailor in the world is crowned.


Ranking IMOCA Ocean Masters WorldChampionship 2015-16

See the Full Ranking – IMOCA Ocean Masters Worldchampionship 2015-2016